School News

News for Marion Community Schools

Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
Several students and two teachers were honored March 20, 2013, by the Marion Community Schools Board of School Trustees. 

Those honored were:

Grant County Spelling Bee participants Micah Hoeksema, Danielle Manio, Katie Erickson, Zoe Orrell, Caleb Spitzer, Brayton Ramsey, Shane Williams, Erin Weatherly, Isabelle Bento, Jinwon Pae, Logan Barley, and Corbin Havens(not pictured, Hannah Patel, Kahmia Wise). More than half of the top spellers in the bee were Marion Community Schools students. Learn more about the spellers here. Also pictured are Superintendent Steve Edwards and school board members Cathy Moritz, Scott Murphy, Pam Hutchison, Harry Hall, Aaron Vermilion, Greg Kitts, and Katie Morgan.

Frances Slocum Elementary School special education teachers Mandy Myrick and Dee Wiley, who were recently honored as teachers of the year by the Grant County Special Education Cooperative. Learn more about them here. Also pictured are Superintendent Steve Edwards and school board members Cathy Moritz, Scott Murphy, Pam Hutchison, Harry Hall, Aaron Vermilion, Greg Kitts, and Katie Morgan.
Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
From the Chronicle-Tribune

Marion Community Schools will consider permitting students to wear jeans on a daily basis.

Assistant Superintendent for Instruction Ken Folks presented the board with recommendations for alterations to the dress code Wednesday, which included allowing side cargo pockets and any color for pants, Capri pants, skirts, shorts, jumpers or skorts.

While hailing those measures, some members of the board also wondered about permitting jeans, which currently are only allowed on special occasions.

Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
From the Chronicle-Tribune

The third time was the charm for R.J. Baskett eighth-grader Madison Jones, who won the 2013 county-wide spelling bee after two previous trips to the competition.

Seventy-seven students from 18 Grant County area schools competed in the 2013 Indiana Wesleyan University Spelling Bee Tuesday.

Fourth through eighth graders are eligible for the bee, which was conducted in College Wesleyan Church and had an all-female final three of Jones, Meagan Aldridge, and Jinwon Pae.

Jones also advanced to this level in fourth grade, and she finished eighth in seventh grade.

— More from MCS on this story: The majority of top finishers in the 2013 Grant County Spelling Bee were Marion Community Schools students. Click here to learn more.
Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
MARION (March 20, 2013) — A Marion Community Schools student tied for runner-up in the Grant County Spelling Bee, and five others were among the top 11 prize-winners.

Jinwon Pae, a fourth-grader at Kendall Elementary School, tied for second at the annual competition hosted by Indiana Wesleyan University on Tuesday, March 19, 2013, at College Wesleyan Church. She was among six Grant County students left in the competition by round four. The bee had started with 78 students.

By round five, only three students remained: Jinwon, along with two students from R.J. Baskett Middle School in Gas City, Meagan Aldridge, a sixth-grader, and Madison Jones, an eighth-grader who would go on to win the bee by correctly spelling “zealotry.”

But a front-page story in the Marion Chronicle-Tribune said Jinwon "almost stole the show." To read the newspaper's report, click here.

Kendall Elementary School fourth-grader Jinwon Pae competes in the final round of the Grant County Spelling Bee on March 19, 2013, at College Wesleyan Church in Marion as sixth-grader Meagan Aldridge and eighth-grader Madison Jones, both from R.J. Baskett Middle School in Gas City, look on. Madison went on to win the bee. To see more photos, click here.

Two other MCS students, Micah Hoeksema, an eighth-grader at McCulloch Junior High School, and Logan Barley, a fourth-grader at Riverview Elementary School, tied for fourth place, along with Emma Make, a fourth-grader from Lakeview Christian School.

Three other MCS students, Caleb Spitzer and Hannah Patel, both fifth-graders at Justice Intermediate School, and Danielle Manio, an eighth-grader at McCulloch Junior High School, tied for seventh place, along with Tristan Galeon, a fifth-grader at St. Paul Catholic School, and Seth Kemple, a homeschooled sixth-grader.

The top 11 finishers all earned prizes in the bee, which was in its fifth year at College Wesleyan Church, according to Alan Miller, director of university relations for IWU. For the third year, IWU associate professor of education John McCracken was the pronouncer.

Madison will go on to compete in the National Spelling Bee, set for May 28-30 in Washington, D.C. An all-expenses paid trip for her and a parent or guardian is part of the prize package she received as winner.

The bee is open to all fourth- through eighth-graders in the county. Each MCS elementary school, along with McCulloch Junior High School, sent the winner and runner-up of its school bee to participate in the county bee. Justice Intermediate School sent the winners and runners-up from each grade, fifth and sixth. Along with those who made it into the top 11, MCS participants in the county bee were:
  • Katie Erickson and Zoe Orrell, sixth-graders at Justice Intermediate School
  • Brayton Ramsey and Shane Williams, fourth-graders at Allen Elementary School
  • Erin Weatherly and Kahmia Wise, fourth-graders at Frances Slocum Elementary School
  • Isabelle Bento, fourth-grader at Kendall Elementary School
  • Corbin Havins, fourth-grader at Riverview Elementary School.
All MCS school-level bee winners were honored at the MCS Board meeting on March 20, 2013. Learn more and view pictures here.
Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
From the Chronicle-Tribune

Six of Grant County’s finest young minds received recognition for their accomplishments at the 2013 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Banquet Thursday.

The event, at Meshingomesia Country and Social Club, honored six students who are finalists for full-ride college awards presented by the Community Foundation and Lilly Foundation.

Two winners will be announced April 1. The remaining students will receive Robert R. Board and Janice M. Board Scholarships for $4,500 renewable each year, as opposed to a one-time $2,000 award previously.

Marion High School senior Nithia Chowattukunnel thanked math teacher and tennis coach Doug Porter, her older brother and her parents.